University of Fort Hare

The University of Fort Hare considers itself as the third smallest university in South Africa and was founded in one of the rural towns of Alice in the Eastern Cape province, which is also one of the rural provinces in the country. There are currently three campuses two of which are urban based, but still draw around 80% of their students from rural provinces in the country and in other parts of Africa. This makes the university a data rich source of information on experiences of rural homes and learning from both students and staff. The university has diverse research focal areas and these seem to centre around developmental issues, student transition, agricultural development, waste management and health. In terms of teaching and learning various projects are underway on student profiling, student tracking and monitoring, continuous professional development and transformation.

Subscribe to our newsletter